

MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007(FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 26

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio
Frank F. Blas, Jr. 7

J. Won Pat

· •

Em

Relative to recognizing January 2007 as 'Youth Year' entitled 'If Youth Won't...Then Who Will?' and efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs in supporting the youth.

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs (DYA) was established in 1978 to assist Guam's adjudicated youth through methods, such as rehabilitation and treatments programs, in an effort to reduce the rate of recidivism and ultimately guide them back into the community as better citizens; and

WHEREAS, The Department of Youth Affairs initiated 'Youth Month', known today as 'Youth Year', to guide and support various schools island wide allowing them to demonstrate their skills by promoting programs geared towards adolescents and young adults throughout the year; and gymnasium

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs is responsible for an array of projects such as the planning, coordinating, and the

implementation of programs, services, and activities aimed toward youth development, rehabilitation, and involvement in our community; and

WHEREAS, this year, student representatives from Father Duenas Memorial School had the honor of Chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee through the Department of Youth Affairs; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Central Planning Committee consists of student representatives from the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Norte Dame High School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente School, Santa Barbara School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School, University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the 26th Guam Youth Congress, all of whom have been contributing to conducting activities, including the Youth Spirit Wave, Proclamation Signing, Oratorical Contest, Student Exchange Program, Talent Showcase, and the Island Leadership Day; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs strongly supports its employees, all of whom go above and beyond to reach our island's youth to construct positive attitudes to improve our community; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, recognize Youth Year 2007 entitled "If Youth Won't...Then Who Will?" and continues to support the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs for its involvement in supporting our islands youth; and be it further

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, also recognizes the student advisors, parents, and student representatives through the representatives of their respective schools, namely the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Norte Dame High School, Oceanview Middle School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High

School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School, University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the 26th Guam Youth Congress, for their contributions in the Youth Year 2007, entitled 'If Youth Won't...Then Who Will?' and continues to support the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs for its involvement in supporting our islands youth; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Christopher M. Duenas, Director Department of Youth Affairs; Mr. Pascual V. Artero, Program Coordinator III Department of Youth Affairs; Ms. Rebecca J. Respicio, Program Coordinator II Department of Youth Affairs; Youth Central Planning Committee, the principals of Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Norte Dame High School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente School, Santa Barbara School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School, University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the 26th Guam Youth Congress; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THIS _____ DAY OF JANUARY 2007.

MARK FORBES
Speaker and
Executive Committee Chairman

RAY TENORIO
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature